soybean pod

Commodity Council Elections Just Around the Corner

Interested candidates sought for open MSR&PC seats

Five Minnesota Soybean Research & Promotion Council seats are up for re-election, and interested candidates need to file their intent to run.

Interested candidates must complete a candidate biography form and a candidate certification form by Jan. 25, 2016, to be eligible to run for a Council seat.

The Minnesota Department of Agriculture will hold commodity council elections in March, 2016. Ballots will be mailed out to soybean producers who have requested ballots or have voted in past elections on March 22, 2016.

The last day for ballots to be postmarked for MDA is April 7, 2016.

To request a ballot in the upcoming election go to

Requests are due by Jan. 25, 2016. MSR&PC candidates up for election are:

Vernon Pooch: District 4
Paul Simonsen: District 5 & 6 (combined)
Gene Stoel: District 7
Keith Schrader: District 8
Rob Hanks District: 9

Questions about MSR&PC elections can be directed to Election Chairman Craig Bangasser at 507-829-5317 or contact the Minnesota Soybean office at 888.896.9678.