Soybean Research & Promotion Council Directors Re-Elected

Mankato, Minn.—The current slate of Minnesota Soybean Research and Promotion Council (MSR&PC) officers has been re-elected to a second term by the board of directors. The elections occurred at the Council’s June 18 board meeting in Mankato.

Paul Simonsen, a soybean farmer from Renville County was re-elected to chair the checkoff board. Simonsen operates his family farm raising corn, soybeans, sweet corn and peas in southern Renville County near Fairfax.

“As chair for a year, there is a learning curve,” Simonsen says. “There is a benefit to soybean farmers in having some experience in leadership positions as our knowledge base improves. The Council feels confident in what the leadership has helped the organization accomplish and could see value in keeping the team in place. Plus, with some new leaders coming up, it gives them another year to learn about the industry and gain confidence to move forward.”

The other officers who were re-elected include: Vice Chairman, Keith Schrader of Nerstrand; Treasurer, Drew Parsley of Warroad; and Secretary Craig Bangasser of Garvin.

The Minnesota Soybean Research and Promotion Council is an elected board of 15 soybean producers from across the state. The mission of the council is to invest soybean checkoff dollars in well-defined research, marketing, education and commercialization programs designed to increase demand and thereby improve the profitability of Minnesota’s soybean farmers. For more information, visit

For more information, to set up an interview or request a photo, contact:

Dan Lemke, Communications Director, 888-896-9678 or

Download Article PDF

Soybean Research & Promotion Council Directors Re-Elected