MSR&PC, USB Directors selected to lead work groups

United Soybean Board Director Gene Stoel, a Lake Wilson, Minn., farmer, was tapped to lead the Demand Sustainability Work Group. The committee, which was announced at USB’s February board meeting, will be tasked with promoting soybeans through USB’s sustainability protocol as part of the board’s demand action team.

“Basically, we want to make sure our customers know we’re making a sustainable agricultural product, both on the soybean oil and meal sides,” says Stoel, who is also a Minnesota Soybean Research & Promotion Council (MSR&PC) director. “Sustainability is a pillar of USB’s mission statement.”

USB Director and Executive Committee member Rochelle Krusemark, a Martin County, Minn., farmer, was also selected to coordinate the USB’s Meal Target Area Committee. Jim Willers, a USB and MSR&PC director from Luverne, Minn., is the lead on Marketplace Oil Work Group.

The Meal Target Area will focus on improving nutrient density in meal to meet needs of animal agriculture and build a preference for U.S. soy; increase farmer awareness of soybean constituents; improve communication and transparency with processors and nutritionists; and utilizing the whole bean by increasing awareness of industrial uses.

“I am grateful that my colleagues entrust me with this leadership opportunity,” says Krusemark, a MSR&PC District 8 director. “Target Area Coordinators (TAC) facilitate discussion as the directors determine priorities and potential projects worthy of investing checkoff funds within the focus of our long range strategic plan.”

Follow The Conversation