New faces elected to Minnesota Soybean Research and Promotion Council

The Minnesota Soybean Research & Promotion Council (MSR&PC) is pleased to announce the addition of two new directors. Joining MSR&PC are William “Bill” Zurn (District 1, 2 & 3) of Callaway, Minn., and Ron Obermoller (District 7) of Brewster, Minn.

Zurn is replacing Drew Parsley of Warroad, Minn.; Obermoller will take over for Craig Bangasser of Garvin, Minn.

Re-elected to the board were Patrick O’Leary (District 4) of Benson, Minn., Patrick Sullivan (District 5 & 6) of Franklin, Minn., and Rochelle Krusemark (District 8) of Trimont, Minn.

More than 4,400 Minnesota soybean farmers received ballots.

“We are proud of this diverse group of farmers on the council. They do an extraordinary job representing Minnesota soybean farmers,” says Patrick O’Leary, MSR&PC vice chair and chair of the election committee. “We welcome our new directors, and want to extend our utmost gratitude to our outgoing directors for their service and dedication.”

Zurn and Obermoller will join the board July 1. Each spring the Department of Agriculture holds commodity council elections, with elected farmers serving three year terms.

The Minnesota Soybean Research & Promotion Council (MSR&PC) is the elected board of soybean producers from Minnesota who direct investments of the state’s checkoff dollars in programs designed to increase profitability to Minnesota soybean farmers.

Follow The Conversation