Take two: Springfield farmer reelected MSR&PC chair

The votes were compiled digitally, but the results remained the same from last year. Brown County farmer Cole Trebesch was reelected chair of the Minnesota Soybean Research & Promotion Council (MSR&PC) Tuesday during the Council’s virtual meeting.

Trebesch, 37, farms near Springfield on the family farm with his wife, Miranda, and their two children, Oliver and Elsie. He raises soybeans, corn, hogs and cattle. He is a member of the Brown County Corn and Soybean Growers Board. Before his election to chair in 2019, Trebesch previously served as vice chair, and has been active on MSR&PC’s environmental stewardship and production action teams. He’s also a graduate of the American Soybean Association’s Young Leader Program and serves on the board of 40 Square Cooperative Solutions.

“I’m honored and humbled that my peers have the confidence in me continuing to chair the Council during a tumultuous period in agriculture,” says Trebesch, the Council’s District 8 director. “We’ve had to contend with a pandemic, weather issues and low commodity prices, among other roadblocks, but I’m eager to continue building on the successes from the past year to enhance the profitability of Minnesota’s soybean farmers.”

soybean news
MSR&PC Chair Cole Trebesch was reelected during Tuesday’s virtual board meeting.

During his first year as chair, Trebesch navigated the Council during a global pandemic, oversaw the Council as it continued making trade progress in developing markets, along with notable developments with Plasma Blue and the Ag Innovation Campus. On July 1, $5 million in state funds will be released toward the construction of the AIC with a projected fall 2020 groundbreaking date. In May, the Council earned a Telly Award for a segment on the national “Advancements” series highlighting checkoff projects.

“It was certainly an unusual first year as chair, but I see a lot of opportunities amidst the challenges,” Trebesch says. “I learned a lot and am fortunate to have a diverse, experienced board to lean on for wisdom and guidance.”

Joe Serbus (Bird Island) was reelected vice-chair; Pat Sullivan (Franklin) remains as secretary and Ben Storm (Dover) returns as treasurer.

Earlier this spring, Winona County farmer Glen Groth was appointed to replace the late Rob Hanks as District 9 representative. In April, Callaway farmer Bill Zurn (District 1, 2 & 3); Patrick O’Leary (District 4) of Benson; Franklin farmer Pat Sullivan (District 5 & 6); Brewster farmer Ron Obermoller (District 7) and Sherburn grower Rochelle Krusemark (District 8) all earned reelection, respectively.

MSR&PC directors serve three-year terms and are elected by Minnesota soybean farmers within their district. The Council oversees the investment of soybean checkoff dollars on behalf of the nearly 28,000 soybean farmers in Minnesota.

Follow The Conversation