Minnesota farmer reappointed to USSEC

The U.S. Soybean Export Council (USSEC) is pleased to announce its 2022-2023 Board of Directors, seated on March 9, 2022 during the organization’s annual meeting in New Orleans.

“USSEC’s board is led by the highly skilled, committed representatives from across the U.S. soybean value chain,” USSEC Chief Executive Officer Jim Sutter. “Their collective expertise enables USSEC to differentiate, elevate and attain market access for U.S. Soy — a key source of sustainable nutrition and energy across the globe.”

Joel Schreurs, a longtime director with the American Soybean Association and Minnesota Soybean Growers Association, was reappointed to serve on USSEC.

“I was really glad to be reappointed to the USSEC board,” Schreurs said. “The biggest reason why I appreciate it so much is because the Soy Excellence Center project is going forward. I was selected to be on the SEC and I want to see the project through for another couple of years, especially since I was just down in Honduras.”

USSEC’s board is comprised of 15 members representing various stakeholders from the U.S. Soy industry. Four members are appointed from the American Soybean Association (ASA), four members are appointed from the United Soybean Board (USB), and seven sub-class seats are elected representing industry, state and trade organizations.

“Our board is looking forward to building on the immense achievements in recent years,” said new USSEC Board Chair Doug Winter. “And I am energized about collaborating with USSEC’s global team to enable companies to experience the full value of U.S. Soy for human consumption, aquaculture, and livestock feed in 80+ countries internationally.”

The 2022/23 USSEC Board of Directors is as follows:

Executive Committee
Doug Winter, Chairman
Stan Born, Vice Chairman
Dawn Scheier, Secretary
Chris Arnold, Treasurer

American Soybean Association (ASA) Appointments
Stan Born, Grower Leader, Illinois
Brian Kemp, Grower Leader, Iowa
Joel Schreurs, Grower Leader, Minnesota
Monte Peterson, Grower Leader, North Dakota

United Soybean Board (USB) Appointments
Doug Winter, Grower Leader, Illinois
Lance Rezac, Grower Leader, Kansas
Darren Kadlec, Grower Leader, North Dakota
Mike McCranie, Grower Leader, South Dakota

Allied Sub-Class
Tori Sorensen, Insta-Pro
Dawn Scheier, South Dakota Research & Promotion Council

Exporter Sub-Class
Craig Pietig, Ag Processing, Inc.
Matt Giltner, Archer Daniels Midland
John Buboltz, Cargill
Ken Dallmier, Clarkson Grain Company
Chris Arnold, J.D. Heiskell & Co.

Follow The Conversation