Minnesota’s ASA Young Leaders complete training

The 35th class of American Soybean Association (ASA) Corteva Agriscience Young Leaders, which featured three Minnesota farmers, completed their training Feb. 25 – 29, 2020 in San Antonio in conjunction with the annual Commodity Classic Convention and Trade Show.

“The ASA Corteva Agriscience Young Leader Program helps provide the soybean industry and all of agriculture with strong and forward-thinking grower leaders,” ASA President Bill Gordon said, who’s a graduate of the Young Leader Program. “The program focuses on leader development and emphasizes collaboration, providing us with growers who are working together to amplify the voice of the farmer. We are grateful to Corteva for their longstanding support of this program and for helping to secure the future of the soybean industry.”

While in San Antonio, the Young Leaders participated in training focused on leadership development, industry issue updates and outreach. The Young Leaders were also recognized at ASA’s annual awards banquet.

“Corteva has been a proud sponsor of the ASA Corteva Agriscience Young Leader Program for over 35 years. This program has a rich history of developing soybean growers from across the country and providing opportunities to strengthen their leadership skills and build their network in the agriculture industry,” U.S. Commercial Unit Leader Nate Miller said. “I have interacted with this year’s class of Young Leaders and am excited about the positive impact these leaders will make on agriculture for generations to come.”

Minnesota farmer Ryan Mackenthun (middle) graduated from ASA’s Young Leader Program at the 2020 Commodity Classic.

Brownton farmer Ryan Mackenthun and Brewster farmers Mike and Dawn Kunerth represented Minnesota.

“It was a really good experience,” Mackenthun says. “We all became more engaged and grew our leadership skills. Meeting the other Young Leaders was fun, too.”

Joining the Minnesota class of Young Leaders are: Caper & Alison Robinson (AR); Jesse Patrick (GA); Brady Holst (IL); James Ramsey (IN); Eric Schwenke (IN); Noah & Anna Fedders (IA); Ryan & Kristin Oberbroeckling (IA); Jeremy Olson (KS); Houston & Katy Howlett (KY); Nathan Engelhard (MI): Allison Morse (MI); Mike & Dawn Kunerth (MN); Ryan Mackenthun (MN); Garrett & Cara Riekhof (MO); Josh England (NE); Lucas & Becky Miller (NE); Trey & Rebecca Liverman (NC); Justin Sherlock (ND); Justin & Emily Esselburn (OH); Scott Ruck (OH); Jesse King (SD); Drew & Lauren Peterson (SD); Casey Youngerman (TN); Adam & Brittany Davis (VA); Matt Rehberg (WI); and Chris & Rachel Renwick (Canada). 

“Everybody bought into the program,” Kunerth said. “With this program, the more you put into it, the more you get out.”

For more information about the ASA Corteva Young Leader Program visit SoyGrowers.com.  

Follow The Conversation