MSGA treasurer to appear on MDA’s Water Quality panel

Minnesota farmers lead the nation in their commitment to our natural resources. Join us on Tuesday, Feb. 22 to hear from distinguished leaders of Minnesota agricultural organizations, including Minnesota Soybean Growers Association Treasurer Darin Johnson, and Rep. Paul Anderson, who are all certified in the Minnesota Agricultural Water Quality Certification Program (MAWQCP). They and every one of the more than 1,170 producers who are Water Quality Certified demonstrate every day that, quite simply, leaders lead. This event is being held in partnership with We Are Water MN, a traveling exhibit that celebrates Minnesotans’ relationships with water. We Are Water MN is on display at the MN State Capitol through February 27, 2022. The event will also be livestreamed on MDA’s YouTube channel.

MSGA has been a longtime supporter of the MAWQCP. Numerous MSGA and MSR&PC leaders are enrolled in the MAWQPC, including President Mike Skaug, Director Mark Brown and Council Directors Paul Freeman, Kris Folland, Gene Stoel and Bill Zurn, among others.

Farmers can contact their local Soil and Water Conservation District to apply for MAWQCP certification and then complete a series of steps with local certifiers using a 100 percent site-specific risk assessment process. By law all data is kept private, and only by signing a formal release can a farmer’s name be released publicly. After becoming certified, farmers receive a 10-year contract ensuring them they will be deemed in compliance with any new water quality laws, an official MAWQCP sign to display on their farm, and other benefits developed by local MAWQCP providers.

“I’m very pleased with our participation,” Skaug said. “This program has benefitted both our bottom line and soil health.”

The nearly 1,200 producers currently certified in the program cover more than 815,000 certified acres and implementing more than 2,300 new conservation practices. Gov. Tim Walz and MDA hope to celebrate the million-acre milestone later this year.


Tuesday, February 22, 2022
2:00 pm – 3:00 pm | MN State Capitol Room 316

  • Welcome and remarks from MDA Commissioner Thom Petersen
  • Panel of Water Quality Certified producers, hosted by Commissioner Petersen
    • Representative Paul Anderson
    • Bryan Biegler, President of the Minnesota Corn Growers Association
    • Grant Breitkreutz, President of MN State Cattlemen
    • Darin Johnson, Treasurer of MN Soybean Growers
  • Closing remarks from MDA Commissioner Thom Petersen

Follow The Conversation