United Soybean Board

USDA Tabs Waseca Farmer Among 19 USB Appointments

Waseca, Minn., farmer Scott Singlestad will join 18 farmer-leaders who will be sworn in as directors of the United Soybean Board (USB) in December, after their recent appointments by U.S. Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack.

scott singlestad

Scott Singlestad,
Waseca, Minn.

Singlestad and 13 other soybean farmers will be returning USB directors, while five soybean farmers are new appointees. These volunteer farmers invest soy checkoff funds on behalf of all U.S. soybean farmers in projects to increase the value of U.S. soybean meal and oil, ensure U.S. farmers and their customers maintain the freedom and infrastructure to operate, and meet the needs of U.S. soy’s customers.

“We’re looking forward to welcoming these new and returning farmer-leaders to the board,” says Jim Call, USB chairman and soybean farmer from Madison, Minnesota. “We know that they will work with their fellow USB directors in wisely investing checkoff dollars for the benefit of all U.S. soybean farmers.”

Appointed farmer-leaders include:

  • Angela M. Dee, Aliceville, Alabama*
  • Robert L. Stobaugh, Atkins, Arkansas*
  • Dwain L. Ford, Kinmundy, Illinois*
  • Michael A. Beard, Frankfort, Indiana*
  • Larry K. Marek, Riverside, Iowa*
  • Thomas E. Oswald, Cleghorn, Iowa
  • Craig M. Gigstad, Valley Falls, Kansas*
  • Keith N. Tapp, Sebree, Kentucky*
  • Belinda L. Burrier, Union Bridge, Maryland
  • Herbert N. Miller, Niles, Michigan
  • Scott G. Singlestad, Waseca, Minnesota*
  • James D. Sneed, Senatobia, Mississippi*
  • George L. Rone, Portageville, Missouri
  • Mike G. Korth, Randolph, Nebraska
  • Daniel J. Corcoran, Piketon, Ohio*
  • Ellie W. Green, Lynchburg, South Carolina*
  • Robert J. Metz, Peever, South Dakota*
  • David E. Nichols, Ridgely, Tennessee*
  • Thomas P. Rotello, Navasota, Texas*

*Indicates returning director
All appointees serve three-year terms, beginning Dec. 11, when they’ll be sworn in at USB’s annual meeting in St. Louis. Qualified State Soybean Boards (QSSBs) nominated all of the appointees.